The BYRON D. OLSEN AWARD is awarded annually to an employee of the Northern Plains group of companies in either the U.S. or Canada with long term (>20 years) service to the railway industry. This employee will have consistently demonstrated dedication to railroad service, ingenuity, leadership, teamwork, and has shown an active interest in his or her craft or the industry at large.  Like Barney, this member of the NP team is well respected by fellow employees, customers, and the broader rail community. The award will be selected annually by NPRC Executive Management. 

The 2019 Byron D. Olsen award winner is John Greeve, Car Foreman, CNPRS. John has 35 years of mechanical experience.  In addition to a cash award, donations were made to the Lexington Group of Transportation History and the Lake Superior Transportation Museum.