icon_widget_image U.S. Corporate Headquarters: P.O. Box 38 114 Main Street South Fordville, ND 58231 icon_widget_image (701) 299-3330 icon_widget_image Toll Free: (855) 567-7245 icon_widget_image NPR Canada: P.O. Box 1162 Camrose, Alberta, T4V 1X2 icon_widget_image (780) 608-9892 info@nprail.com

Northern Plains Rail Services

Northern Plains Railroad Service Awards 2023

2022 Robert F. Irwin Award

Congratulations to KELSEY SLAAMOD

Kelsey Slaamod, of the accounting and administrative departments, is the very deserving recipient of our company’s Robert F. Irwin Award for 2022. The award is named for the first vice president of operations at the railroad in 1997.

This award is given to the employee that demonstrates integrity in their family and at work, devotes her- or himself to the community, is supportive and loyal in the workplace, and is attentive to workplace safety. One person is chosen every year whom we feel represents the qualities and values Mr. Irwin knew to be very important in life. Congratulations to Kelsey for her continued dedication and professionalism. Each recipient wins a cash award, and also cash to be donated to an organization of their choice. Kelsey has chosen Park River Community Endowment Fund and North Star Youth Hockey.

2022 Gerald Miller Award

Congratulations to DEREK MUIR

Congratulations to Derek Muir of the Northern Plains Rail – Complete Track Works division for being our 2022 Gerald Miller Award winner. Derek is a long-time Railroader at NPRS, well respected by our clients and his coworkers. The award honors the memory of Gerald Miller, whose service and dedication to the maintenance of way department of NPR from its inception were respected and appreciated by all. Great work, Derek!

Each recipient wins a cash award, and also cash to be donated to an organization of their choice. Derek has chosen the Larimore Elementary School Extended School Program and the Larimore Ambulance.

2022 Byron D. Olsen Award

Congratulations to JERRY HEGSTROM

Congratulations to Jerry Hegstrom, AVP of our Northern Plains – Complete Track Works group, for being named the 2022 Byron D. Olsen Award Winner! This is a well-deserved honor for Jerry, who has been a visionary leader in developing this business with the support of all our customers across the Midwest.

The award recognizes a member of the Northern Plains group of companies in either the U.S. or Canada with a long term (over 20 years) of service to the railway industry, and who has consistently demonstrated dedication to railroad services: ingenuity, leadership, and teamwork, and has shown an active interest in his/her craft or the industry at large. Like “Barney” Olsen, this member of the NP team is well respected by fellow employees, customers, and the broader rail community.

Skip to content